Mad World

Hey, reader! My sincere apologies for the delay between posts. I’d give some big noble reason, but….I don’t have one :p

Anyway, it is time for the third and final installment of my trilogy of book-series-devoted fangirling blog posts. And fittingly, this one is a trilogy–possibly the most well-known trilogy ever. Trust me, ask anyone and they’ll have heard of it. I’m speaking (typing?), of course, about the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.

This series consists of three books:

  • The Hunger Games
  • Catching Fire
  • Mockingjay

…which in turn have been made into four movies:

  • The Hunger Games
  • Catching Fire
  • Mockingjay, Part 1
  • Mockingjay, Part 2

First, The Hunger Games is mainly spent following the 74th Annual Hunger Games, so I shall provide a list of the tributes that competed in that Games. They will be listed by order of district, and within that category, girl then boy. Here goes:

District One:

  • Glimmer
  • Marvel

District Two:

  • Clove
  • Cato

District Three:

  • -unknown-

District Four:

  • -unknown-

District Five:

  • Foxface
  • -unknown-

District Six:

  • -unknown-
  • Jason

District Seven:

  • -unknown-

District Eight:

  • -unknown-

District Nine:

  • -unknown-

District Ten:

  • -unknown-

District Eleven:

  • Rue ❤
  • Thresh

District Twelve:

  • Katniss
  • Peeta

My  favorite? At the risk of being totally cliché, Rue. And Thresh. And possibly Foxface.

Then, in Catching Fire, we have the 75th Annual Hunger Games…also known as the third Quarter Quell. Our tributes in this one (in the same order):

District One:

  •  Cashmere
  •  Gloss

District Two:

  •  Enobaria
  •  Brutus

District Three:

  •  Wiress
  •  Beetee

District Four:

  •  Mags
  •  Finnick

District Five:

  •  -unknown-

District Six:

  •  “the morphling”
  •  “the morphling”

District Seven:

  •  Johanna Mason
  •  Blight

District Eight:

  •  Cecelia
  •  Woof

District Nine:

  •  -unknown-

District Ten:

  •  -unknown-

District Eleven:

  •  Seeder
  •  Chaff

District Twelve:

  • Katniss
  • Peeta

Now, Mockingjay. There was no technical Hunger Games in this book, although Finnick and Katniss do refer to their trip through the streets of the Capitol as “the 76th Annual Hunger Games” (and personally, I kind of agree!). So instead of a list of tributes, I’ll just mark down some notable deaths (because this book was like the goshdarned Deathly Hallows!!):

  1. FINNICK ODAIR- presumably, eaten by the seriously creepy lizard mutts.
  2. PRIMROSE EVERDEEN- blown up by a silver-parachute bomb 😦
  3. CORIOLANUS SNOW- either choked to death or was crushed by the crowd at Coin’s assassination. Nobody knows, and “no one really cares” (Katniss)
  4. ALMA COIN- shot by Katniss
  5. BOGGS- got his legs blown off by a land mine, and bled to death
  6. MITCHELL- caught in a pod on a Capitol block
  7. MESSALLA- literally melted. ‘Nuff said
  8. JACKSON- destroyed by the Meat Grinder

My thoughts on the whole trilogy:

  1. I LOVE IT!
  2. How do people come up with this stuff?
  3. To be honest, I liked most of the characters better than Katniss, even the tiny side characters. Katniss was OK, but not my favorite. However, I really liked how she was a strong, independent, self-sufficient female lead who didn’t perpetuate the “damsel in distress” stereotype, and how she stayed strong even as she was faced with circumstances that would make anyone fall apart. I also loved how she didn’t go from “strong heroine” to “fancy princess” as soon as she got into a relationship, and how she was always herself.
  4. So who IS my favorite character? Well, that’s really, really hard. I love (in no particular order): Rue. Johanna. CINNA. Thresh. Finnick. Annie. Effie, for her ridiculousness. And many many others.
  5. I have to pick ONE?!? What is this nonsense?!?! Fine. Johanna Mason. There, I did it. Are you proud of me? Good, you should be.
  6. No, wait! Cinna!
  7. No, Johanna.
  8. No, Cinna.
  9. No, Rue.
  10. Ugh. I can’t do this!
  11. I have never seen the movies. Any of them. So sue me.
  12. The worst death for me was Cinna or Rue. Again, cliché, but I can’t help it. I loved them so much. The next two would be Finnick and Prim.
  13. I loved Katniss’s decision to assassinate Coin instead of Snow, and how District Thirteen actually was, compared to what they thought it would be.
  14. This series is awesome.
  15. I cried.

AND. For your enjoyment, you can now see how well YOU would do in the Hunger Games, theoretically. Click here or here to play the Hunger Games simulation and see how long YOU would last!

Finally, our song! Here:

This is Mr. Brightside by The Killers!

(I ADORE this song!)

Leave a Reply

